Home   |   Newsletter   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
News & Press: MEMS Executive Congress US 2014 News

MEMS Industry Group Announces MEMS & Sensors Innovation Awards Finalists

Tuesday, October 7, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: MEMS Industry Group
Share |

-       Vote by October 20; winners announced November 7 at MEMS Executive Congress US

Voting is now underway for MEMS Industry Group (MIG)’s second annual Best in MEMS and Sensors Innovation Awards (MEMsies) — a celebration of innovation in the MEMS and sensors industry. MEMsies are granted to individuals, organizations and businesses that have made a positive and substantive impact on the world through their MEMS and sensors technology.
Winners in each category will be announced November 7 at MEMS Executive Congress US 2014, MIG’s tenth annual executive conference and networking event.


MEMS/Sensors Device of the Year

·         Analog Devices - ADXRS645 MEMS gyroscope

·         Bosch Sensortec - BMI160 inertial measurement unit (IMU)

·         Bosch Sensortec GmbH - BMP280

·         Cambridge CMOS Sensor - CCS801 multi-gas sensor

·         DelfMEMS - FreeFlex Switch

·         Freescale Semiconductor - MMA9555LR1 motion sensing platform pedometer

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifFreescale Semiconductor - FXTH87 tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS)

·         InvenSense - ICM-20728 integrated 7-axis (3-axis gyroscope + 3-axis accelerometer + pressure sensor) single-chip platform solution

·         mCube - Accelerometers

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifMerit Sensor Systems - TR Series for high-pressure, high-volume OEM applications

·         Microgen Systems - BOLT Piezo-MEMS energy harvesters and power cells

·         Omron Electronic Components - 2SMPB-0101 absolute pressure sensor

·         STMicroelectronics - LSM6DS3 – 6-axis accelerometer-gyro combo

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifTexas Instruments - DLP NIRscan evaluation model for design of near-infrared spectrometers


MEMS/Sensors Engineer of the Year

·         Irina Stateikina of C2Mi for MIDIS process

·         Yonghui Yang of Freescale Semiconductor for MMA9555LR1

·         Mike Stanley of Freescale Semiconductor for sensor fusion

·         Chuck Gritton of Hillcrest Labs for MEMS-based technology development, including strategy, product architectures and research

·         Ken Foust of Intel for MEMS/sensors standards

·         Joe Seeger of InvenSense, Inc. for ICM-20728 (3-axis gyroscope + 3-axis accelerometer + pressure sensor) single-chip platform solution

·         Robert G. Andosca of MicroGen Systems, Inc. for BOLT piezo-MEMS energy harvesters and power cells


MEMS/Sensors Foundry of the Year

·         C2Mi

·         CEA-Leti

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifSilex Microsystems

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifSynkera

·         X-FAB MEMS Foundry


MEMS/Sensor Start-up of the Year

·         Cambridge CMOS Sensors - Launching the CCS800 family of gas sensors

·         Delfmems - FreeFlex multi-throw RF MEMS switch technology

·         mCube - Fast time to market with new product

·         MicroGen Systems, Inc. - First MEMS-based energy harvester products

·         uBeam - Demonstration of wireless charging using an ultrasonic transducer not in silicon

·         Vesper - New company, closed financing, hired executive team developing with piezo-MEMS microphones

·         VirtualBeam - Real-time Human Activity Recognition (HAR) Engine

·         ZMDI - Sensor signal conditioning ASICs


MEMS/Sensors Supplier of the Year


·         Applied Materials - Aluminum Nitride (AIN) for RF Filter Applications

·         EVG - Gemini bonder

·         Lam Research - 9400DSiE - Deep Silicon Etch

·         SPTS Technologies - LPCVD for cost-effective low stress nitride for MEMS applications

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifSSEC - Metal Lift-Off

·         X-FAB - MEMS, piezo-MEMS, wafer-level packaging


MEMS/Sensors Designer of the Year

·         AM Fitzgerald & Associates – RocketMEMS

·         https://www.surveymonkey.com/i/t.gifFreescale Semiconductor - MMA9555LR1 - Xtrinsic motion sensing platform pedometer

·         InvenSense, Inc. - ICM-20728 - integrated 7-axis (3-axis gyroscope + 3-axis accelerometer + pressure sensor) single-chip platform solution

·         MicroGen Systems, Inc. - BOLT piezo-MEMS energy harvesters and power cells


MEMS/Sensors Consultant of the Year

·         Alissa Fitzgerald (AM Fitzgerald & Associates)

·         David Doyle (SemiTec Ltd.)

·         Jeremie Bouchaud (IHS)

·         Roger Grace (Roger Grace & Associates)

·         Mary Ann Maher (SoftMEMS)


MEMS/Sensors Integrator

·         Freescale Semiconductor - FXTH87xxxx 7x7 TPMS product

·         Freescale Semiconductor - Sensor Fusion Toolbox

·         Hillcrest Labs - Freespace SH-1 Sensor Hub

·         Melexis – Triaxis

·         MEMS Vision - Humidity sensing

·         Open Engineering - OOFELIE::Multiphysics

·         Sensor Platforms/Audience - FreeMotion


MEMS/Sensors Executive of the Year

·         Stefan Finkbeiner, Bosch Sensortec

·         Babak Taheri, Freescale Semiconductor

·         Chuck Gritton, Hillcrest Labs

·         Behrooz Abdi, InvenSense, Inc.

·         Mourad El-Gamal, MEMS Vision

·         Rick Russell, Merit Sensor Systems Inc.

·         Mike Ciprick, Micralyne

·         Kevin Crofton, SPTS Technologies

·         Siamak Salimy, Teledyne DALSA Inc.

·         Peter Merz, X-FAB

·         Rudi De Winter, X-FAB Semiconductor & MEMS Foundries AG


Lifetime Achievement Award

·         Udo Gomez, Bosch Sensortec

·         Babak Taheri, Freescale Semiconductor

·         Daniel Simpkins, Hillcrest Labs

·         Heikki Kuisma, Murata Finland

·         Jiri Marek, Robert Bosch GmBH

·         Roger Grace, Roger Grace & Associates

·         Susumu Kaminaga, Sumitomo Precision Products

·         Bruno Murari, STMicroelectronics

·         Luc Ouellet, Teledyne DALSA Inc.

·         Kentaro Totsu, Tohoku University


MEMS/Sensors Company of the Year

·         Apple - iPhone 6, iWatch, etc.

·         Bosch Sensortec - Full MEMS/sensors portfolio

·         Delfmems - FreeFLEX

·         Freescale Semiconductor - Sensor Fusion

·         InvenSense, Inc. - new 7-axis, new low power wearable chip, new top port microphone

·         MicroGen Systems, Inc. – BOLT piezo-MEMS energy harvesters and power cells

·         SPTS Technologies

·         STMicroelectronics - Broadline MEMS and sensors supplier



Vote by October 20


Vote by October 20 by visiting: http://us2014.memscongress.com/2014-mems-and-sensors-innovation-awards-the-memsies/


Winners Announced

MIG will announce MEMsies winners at MEMS Executive Congress, Friday, November 7, 2014, 11:30 a.m.


Press Registration

Working journalists who are interested in attending MEMS Executive Congress US 2014 may be eligible to attend the event at no cost by sending a written request for press credentials to Maria Vetrano, public relations consultant, MEMS Industry Group, Tel: 617.876.2770, Email: maria[at]vetrano.com.


Host Organization





Premier sponsors of MEMS Executive Congress US 2014 include: Platinum Sponsor EV Group; Gold Sponsors Lam Research Corporation and SPTS Technologies; Silver Sponsors Analog Devices and Freescale Semiconductor; and Bronze Sponsors Applied Materials and X-FAB MEMS Foundry.

Event sponsors include: Acuity Incorporated, AEPI, Akustica, Bosch Automotive Electronics (AE), Bosch Sensortec GmbH, BSAC, Coventor, Expertech, MEMS Journal, Micrel, MEMS & Nanotechnology Exchange, Okmetic, QuickLogic, Rogue Valley Microdevices, Semico Research, Solid State Technology, SunEdison Semiconductor, Sustainable Valley Technology Group, Tronics, VTT and Yole Développement.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal